Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Tour-Review & Giveaway: The Truth About Him by M. O'Keefe


For fans of Christina Lauren and Jodi Ellen Malpas comes the next novel in M. O’Keefe’s breathtakingly sexy series about a woman called into a journey of the heart, body, and soul.

We played our roles, told each other lies.

But now Dylan is no longer just a mysterious deep voice on the other end of the line. We’re face-to-face and our relationship is very, very real.

We still have secrets—but so much is crystal clear:

The thrilling danger.

The raw, naked desire.

The need to keep feeling the way he makes me feel. Forever.

Dylan is putting up walls, trying to keep me safe, but he can’t shut me out. He has seen my darkness and rescued me. Now it’s my turn, if only he will let me.



First thing you need to know--you have to read Everything I Left Unsaid first before reading The Truth About Him.  If you don't, you're going to be lost (don't worry, you're going to like it).  Next, I thought this story was had a darker feel to it, and Dylan's character was essentially totally exposed and raw here in the second book.  For me, this book was more about his journey from who he was before he met Annie to who he finally becomes at the end, and his character really goes through a lot of soul-searching and growth--which is always a big plus in any story I read.

The story starts up right where the first book left off, picking up from the middle of an intense cliffhanger and immediately dropping you into a whole load of drama and suspense...of which there is plenty from page one all the way to the end.  It does keep you hooked, but at times it felt to me a bit too much to where I wanted things to move a little faster.

The romance between Dylan and Annie didn't feel as easy and natural this time around, I thought they had more chemistry in the first book then here.  But a lot of that is probably due to all of the crazy drama causing so much emotional turmoil, particularly for Dylan.  Annie's character also tried a bit too hard to make jokes in this book which for me sometimes fell a bit flat.

But overall, this is a truly satisfying conclusion to Dylan and Annie's story, and I really liked the prominent role Ben (Dylan's father) played.  Dylan's friend and business partner, Blake, ticked me off a bit...but I still would really like to hear his story, and I'm hoping the author has something planned for him.  I'm definitely looking forward to reading about Max and Joan!

4 stars for The Truth About Him, and this is recommended for 18+ due to adult language, explicit sexual content and some scenes of violence.

Be sure to read the first book in the series:

LINKS FOR EVERYTHING I LEFT UNSAID (Everything I Left Unsaid, #1) 



Molly O'Keefe has always known she wanted to be a writer (except when she wanted to be a florist or a chef and the brief period of time when she considered being a cowgirl). And once she got her hands on some romances, she knew exactly what she wanted to write.

She published her first Harlequin romance at age 25 and hasn't looked back. She loves exploring every character's road towards happily ever after.

Originally from a small town outside of Chicago, she went to university in St. Louis where she met and fell in love with the editor of her school newspaper. They followed each other around the world for several years and finally got married and settled down in Toronto, Ontario. They welcomed their son into their family in 2006, and their daughter in 2008. When she's not at the park or cleaning up the toy room, Molly is working hard on her next novel, trying to exercise, stalking Tina Fey on the internet and dreaming of the day she can finish a cup of coffee without interruption.




No comments:

Post a Comment